|Treasurer||Tara Mooreheademail@example.com||(406) 874-3427|
|Deputy Treasurer||Lorilee Beckerfirstname.lastname@example.org|
The Office of the Treasurer receives and disburses all monies, as dictated by state law, and records these transactions. The Treasurer, an elected official, reports to the Montana State Department of Revenue on administrative matters while the County Commissioners have budgetary authority. The Treasurers Office deals with motor vehicle matters, including registrations, title transfers and applications, and the issuance of temporary permits. The Treasurers office also performs general office activities including receipts from taxes, fees and intergovernmental transfers. It also processes disbursements, invests funds, maintains bank accounts, seizes tax delinquent property, handles tax protests, and issues moving permits for mobile homes.
We accept credit card payments through our online payment service. Payments can also be made at the Treasurer’s office and by phone. Failure to receive a property tax statement does not exempt the taxpayer from timely payment of the taxes due.
• Second installment due – May 31st
Real Estate tax bills are mailed in October of each year to the owner of record, as their name and mailing address appears on the tax roll. The tax roll is prepared and maintained by the State of Montana, Department of Revenue, Assessor’s Office. If you have not received a tax statement by November 1st, please contact the Treasurer’s Office at 406-874-3427 to request a duplicate statement or to request an address change. Taxes on real estate may be paid in two installments, the first installment on or before November 30th of each year, the second installment on or before May 31st of the following year. If the first installment is not paid or postmarked on or before November 30th then the amount of this FIRST INSTALLMENT ONLY becomes delinquent. If the second installment is not paid or postmarked on or before May 31st, then the amount of this SECOND INSTALLMENT ONLY becomes delinquent. When either installment becomes delinquent a penalty of 2% will be immediately added, together with interest at the rate of 10% per annum, until paid. BOTH INSTALLMENTS MAY BE PAID AT ONE TIME, on or before November 30th, if so desired.Your property may qualify for Property Tax Assistance Program, this may include: Property Tax Assistance Disabled or Deceased Veteran’s Residential Exemption, the Extended Property Tax Assistance Program and/or Elderly Homeowner’s Tax Credit. Contact the Montana Department of Revenue at 406-232-6437 for further information.
Personal Property Taxes
Due within 30 days after the notice is mailed. Taxes on personal property are paid in one payment. The treasurer must within 30 days after the notice is mailed to the taxpayer, collect same by seizure and sale of property if tax is not paid. If not paid within 30 days the tax becomes delinquent and a 2% penalty and 10% interest per annum must be added.
Mobile Home Taxes
• First installment due – May 31st
• Second installment due – November 30th
If not paid or postmarked by 5 pm on the due date the tax becomes delinquent and a 2% penalty and 10% interest per annum must be added.
The Custer County Treasurers Office is not affiliated with the Drivers Services Bureau however for drivers license questions click here or call (866) 450-8034. For questions about acquiring a Real ID click here.
Online Renewal: Click here to register online
Mail Renewal: Send reminder card from State of MT or registration and $1 per registration mailing fee additional postage may be required if the vehicle is up for rolling reissue and needs a new license plate.
1. Montana Title or
2. Out of State Title or
3. Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO)
4. Copy of loan contract (if applicable)
5. Any other applicable supporting documents. New residents may use a valid driver’s license and vehicle registration from their former state for up to 30 days. It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in the State of Montana without valid vehicle liability insurance, certificate of self-insurance or posted indemnity.
License Plate Options
The County Treasurer will issue standard plates to all vehicle owners unless they request other plates. Click here for Montana License Plate Information Montana registered trucks and passenger cars must display a license plate on the front and rear of the vehicle with the renewal tab on the rear plate.